12 teams for 7 wild-cards at Women's EHF Champions League 2020/2021 | Handball Planet

12 teams for 7 wild-cards at Women’s EHF Champions League 2020/2021

The European Handball Federation has received 21 registrations from clubs for the DELO EHF Champions League 2020/21.

Registration of clubs does not equal participation, and the final list of all participants will only be confirmed following the EHF EXEC meeting on Friday 19 June.

The 2020/21 season will be the 27th in history and the first one played in a new format with 16 teams divided in two groups of eight.
Based on the EHF ranking list the teams from top eight countries have been registered as national champions (although in some cases the championship title was not awarded due to COVID-19 outbreak) and have fixed places in the new season. Macedonian champions have not submitted a registration.

Odense Handbold have been awarded with the additional place according to the new regulations as a representative of Denmark, the national federation ranked first in the EHF European League seeding list 2020/21. The participation of these nine teams is now only subject of an approval by the EHF EXEC.

In addition, 12 clubs eligible to enter the EHF European League have submitted their requests for a Champions League upgrade via their national federations.

The clubs which request an upgrade will now be evaluated based on several different criteria (venue, TV, spectators, results in past EHF competitions, product management and digital) and recommendations will be prepared for the following EXEC, which will confirm the teams for the remaining seven positions on the starting grid.

The final list of the teams for the new season will then be announced on Friday 19 June.

Draw will be held on July 1.

Teams with fixed places (9)
DEN – Team Esbjerg
DEN – Odense Handbold
FRA – Metz
GER – Borussia Dortmund
HUN – Györi Audi ETO KC
MNE – WHC Buducnost
NOR – Vipers Kristiansand
ROU – SCM Ramnicu Valcea
RUS – Rostov-Don

Upgrade requests (12)
GER – SG BBM Bietigheim
ROU – CSM Bucuresti
TUR – Kastamonu Belediyesi GSK
NOR – Storhamar Handball Elite
HUN – FTC-Rail Cargo Hungaria
SWE – Höörs HK H65
FRA – Brest Bretagne
CRO – HC Podravka Vegeta
SLO – RK Krim Mercator
CZE – DHK Banik Most
MKD – WHC Kumanovo

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top