EHF Champions League Ultimate Selection – the 8 best players of the past 20 years Champions League

The European Handball Federation has announced the all-star team from the past 20 years – the ‘EHF Champions League Ultimate Selection’. Eight great handball icons have been selected in each of the playing positions plus the best defender from the past 20 seasons of Europe’s premier club handball competition.

Left wing – Stefan Kretzschmar (GER)

Winner of the EHF Champions League (2002) all with SC Magdeburg. Silver medal at Olympic Games (2004), World Championships (2003) and bronze (1998) and silver medals (2002) European Championships with Germany.

 Left back – Filip Jicha (CZE)

EHF Champions League winner in 2010 and 2012 with THW Kiel. World Handball Player of the year 2010.

 Line player – Andrei Xepkin (ESP)

EHF Champions League winner in 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2005 with FC Barcelona, 2007 with THW Kiel, Olympic bronze medal in 2000, EHF EURO sliver in 1998, EHF EURO bronze in 2000 – all with Spain – World Championship silver in 1990 with the Soviet Union.

Centre back – Jackson Richardson (FRA)

EHF Champions League winner in 2001 with Portland San Antonio, Bronze at the Olympic Games in 1992. Two gold (1995/2001), one silver (1993) and three bronze medals (1997, 2003, 2005) at World Championships with France. World Handball Player of the Year 1995.

 Right back – Olafur Stefansson (ISL)

EHF Champions League winner in 2002 with SC Magdeburg; 2006, 2008, 2009 with Ciudad Real, one silver medal at Olympic Games (2008), one bronze medal at EHF European Championship (2010) with Iceland.

 Right wing – Mirza Dzomba (CRO)

EHF Champions League winner in 2006 with Ciudad Real, gold at Olympic Games (2004), one gold (2003) and one silver (2005) at World Championships.

 Goalkeeper – Tomas Svensson (SWE)

EHF Champions League winner in 1995 with Bidasoa Irun; 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000 with FC Barcelona, Three silver at Olympic Games (1992/1996/2000), two gold (1990/1999), silver (2001) and two bronze (1993/1995) at World Championships, three gold medals (1994/2000/2002) at EHF European Championships with Sweden.

 Best defender – Didier Dinart (FRA)

EHF Champions League winner in 2003 with Montpellier; in 2006, 2008, 2009 with Ciudad Real. Two gold medals at Olympic Games (2008/2012). Three gold (2001/2009/2011), two bronze (2003/2005) at World Championships, two gold 2006/2010), one bronze (2008) at EHF European Championships with France.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top