IHF to establish Athletes' Commission | Handball Planet
Index category

IHF to establish Athletes’ Commission


International Handball Federation announced the names of candidates for the IHF Athletes’ Commission which should become a full member of the IHF Council in the future. IHF legal bodies decided to repeat the election at the 2016 Olympic Games when a large number of athletes of both genders eligible to vote will be gathered.

The objectives of the Commission are:

– consider issues related to athletes and provide advice to the IHF;

– represent the rights and interests of athletes and make related recommendations;

– maintain contact with the IOC Athletes’ Commission.

The Commission shall have the following specific tasks and activities:

– establish a means of seeking athletes’ opinions on issues of major importance in handball through as wide a network of enquiry as possible;

– keep the IHF Executive Committee regularly informed of athletes’ opinions on issues of major importance in handball;

– report to the IHF bodies on organisational issues that may arise in connection with athletes’ participation at the different competitions organised under the IHF umbrella;

– provide opinions on specific issues of athletes’ interests that may be entrusted to it by the IHF;

– promote a “healthy image” and “fair play”;

– be the link between active athletes and IHF;

– contribute to the promotion and fostering of the worldwide development of handball;

– meet once per year.

The Athletes’ Commission will be composed of 5 members with at least 2 members from each gender.

The candidates who were confirmed by the IHF Executive Committee are the following:

Chebbah Mouna (TUN), Chambray TH (as of season 2016/2017)

Rikke Erhardsen Skov (DEN), Viborg HK

Cristina Neagu (ROU), Buducnost Podgorica

Diego Simonet (ARG), MHB Montpellier

Igor Vori (CRO), PSG Handball

Gro Hammerseng-Edin (NOR), Larvik HK

source: IHF

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top