EHF CL 2010/2011 Draw: Group A is the strongest! | Handball Planet

EHF CL 2010/2011 Draw: Group A is the strongest!

The draw for the EHF Champions League 2010/11 season was carried out on 22 June 2010 in Vienna by EHF Vice President Jean Brihault and EHF Secretary General Michael Wiederer. Four groups with six teams each were drawn as follows:

2010/11 Men’s EHF Champions League, Group Phase

Group A
THW Kiel (GER)
HC Celje Pivovarna Lasko (SLO)
F.C. Barcelona Borges (ESP)
Chambery Savoie HB (FRA)
Wild Card Winner**
KS Vive Targi Kielce (POL)

Group B
MKB Veszprém KC (HUN)
Montpellier Agglomeration HB (FRA)
HSV Hamburg (GER)
KIF Kolding (DEN)
IK Sävehof (SWE)
Winner Qualification Group 1*

Group C
Chekhovskie Medvedi (RUS)
AaB Handball (DEN)
Pick Szeged (HUN)
Cuatro Rayas BM Valladolid (ESP)
Kadetten Schaffhausen (SUI)
Winner Qualification Group 2*

Group D
Renovalia Ciudad Real (ESP)
HC Croatia Osiguranje Zagreb (CRO)
St. Petersburg HC (RUS)
SG Flensburg-Handewitt (GER)
HC Bosna Sarajevo (BOS)
HCM Constanta (ROU)

* 2010/11 Men’s EHF Champions League, Qualification Tournament / Qualification

A total of eight teams will take part in the Qualification Tournaments. The clubs were drawn into two groups of four. The winner of Qualification Group 1 will go into Group B, the winner of Qualification Group 2 will go into Group C.

Group 1
1. Tatran Presov (SVK)
2. Drammen HK (NOR)
3. A1 Bregenz (AUT)
4. Besiktas JK (TUR)

Group 2
1. HC Metalurg (MKD)
2. ZTR Zaporozhye (UKR)
3. HC Dinamo-Minsk (BLR)
4. FC Porto/Vitalis (POR)

Theses two groups will be played out in two Qualification Tournaments on 3/4/5 September 2010. The teams of row 4 in each group – Besiktas and Porto – have been drawn to possess the right to organise the respective tournament. If they refuse or are unable to meet the requirements, the right is passed on to row 3, then row 2 and finally row 1.

** 2010/11 Men’s EHF Champions League, Wild Card Tournament

In addition, a Wild Card Tournament will be organised at a venue to be defined later. Four teams will participate and play for one place in EHF Champions League Group A.

Reale Ademar (ESP)
Rhein-Neckar Löwen (GER)
Bjerringbro-Silkeborg (DEN)
RK Gorenje Velenje (SLO)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top