Bulgaria wins IHF / EHF Trophy | Handball Planet

Bulgaria wins IHF / EHF Trophy

Host Bulgaria kept a clean sheet on home soil to secure the title in the IHF/EHF Challenge Trophy hosted by their federation for the first time ever. Eight women’s teams – divided into two groups – in total fought for medals in Veliko Tarnovo and Gabrovo. Three victories in the preliminary round each made Bulgaria and Faroe Islands qualify for the final played in Gabrovo. And the host dominated the game, celebrating a clear 36:27 victory – the first one in their federation’s history. It was the fourth victory for a host nation at the Women’s IHF/EHF Challenge Trophies, which have been organized since 2000. In contrast to the final, the placement match 3/4 became a real thriller with Israel winning 29:28 against Latvia after two extra-time periods.

Results and ranking:
7/8 Match: Malta – Armenia 10:22
5/6 Match: Estonia – Moldova 28:24
3/4 Match:  Israel – Latvia 29:28 (after 2 x extra time)
Final: Faroe Islands – Bulgaria 27:36
1. Bulgaria, 2. Faroe Islands, 3. Israel, 4. Latvia, 5. Estonia, 6. Moldova, 7. Armenia, 8. Malta

All-Star Team:
Left wing: Dana Epelboim (ISR)
Left back: Neli Dobreva (BUL)
Centre back: Liljan Djurhuus (FAR)
Right back: Marjun Falkvard Danberg (FAR)
Right wing: Viktoriya Hristova (BUL)
Pivot: Xenia Garea (MDA)
Goalkeeper: Baikova Anna (LAT)
Best defence player: Elizabeth Omoregie (BUL)
Most valuable player: Neli Dobreva (BUL)
Top scorer: Shir Vikrat (ISR)

Former winners of the Women’s IHF/EHF Challenge Trophies:
2000 in Belgium: Bosnia-Herzegovina
2002 in Azerbaijan: Azerbaijan
2004 in Italy: Italy
2006 in Bosnia-Herzegovina: Bosnia-Herzegovina
2008: in Cyprus: Finland
2010 in Israel and Estonia (final in Denmark): Finland

Text and Photo: IHF.INFO

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top