Men's Olympic tournament 2024 completed! | Handball Planet

Men’s Olympic tournament 2024 completed!

Men’s Olympic tournament in Paris 2024 is completed!  Six teams from IHF Men’s Olympic Qualification Tournaments in Granollers, Hanover and Tatabanya earned their places.

In the Men’s Olympic Qualification Tournament #1, which was played in Granollers, Spain and Slovenia were the two qualified teams, after “Los Hispanos” won all three matches, against Brazil, Slovenia and Bahrain, while Slovenia clinched two wins, only losing against the hosts.

Croatia and Germany were the two qualified teams from the Men’s Olympic Qualification Tournament #2, which took place in Hanover, Germany, with Dagur Sigurdsson’s side winning all three matches, including a thriller against Germany, 33:30, and against Algeria and Austria. Germany followed suit, and their 34:31 win against Austria in the last match pushed them through to the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

Norway were the winners of the Men’s Olympic Qualification Tournament #3 in Tatabanya, Hungary, with wins against Portugal, Hungary and Tunisia, as the sweep of their opponents brought them the first place. With a dramatic 30:27 win in the last match, Hungary clinched the final ticket for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

The six sides join the previously six qualified teams in the competition. Hosts France were already qualified when the hosting rights were awarded to Paris, while world champions Denmark secured their berth when they clinched the 2023 IHF Men’s World Championship title.

Egypt secured their ticket via the 2024 CAHB African Men’s Handball Championship, where they won the title, with Japan progressing via the AHF Asian Men’s Handball Olympic Qualification Tournament.

Last, but not least, Sweden progressed via the EHF EURO 2024, where they finished third, while Argentina clinched the title at the 2023 Pan American Games.

The draw for the men’s handball competition at the Paris 2024 Olympic Games will be made on 16 April, in Paris, France.

The 12 qualified teams will be divided into six pots. The seeding for the draw will be as follows:

Pot 1 – Denmark / Spain
Pot 2 – Croatia / Norway
Pot 3 – Hungary / Germany
Pot 4 – Slovenia / France
Pot 5 – Sweden / Egypt
Pot 6 – Argentina / Japan

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top