The Draw for the Women’s EHF EURO 2020 in Norway and Denmark was held in Copenhagen.

EHF EURO 2018 winners and current world champions from 2017, France, have been drawn to group 6 and will face Croatia, Turkey and Iceland. EURO 2018 silver medallists and reigning Olympic champions, Russia, head group 4 and play against Serbia, Slovakia and Switzerland.

28 teams play the Qualifiers. The top two teams from each of the seven groups will qualify for the final tournament. Norway and Denmark as organisers are already qualified for the 16-nation tournament.

Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group 4 Group 5 Group 6 Group 7
Netherlands Montenegro Germany Russia Sweden France Romania
Spain Hungary Slovenia Serbia Czech Republic Croatia Poland
Austria Italy Belarus Slovakia North Macedonia Turkey Ukraine
Winner Q1 Lithuania Kosovo Switzerland Portugal Iceland Faroe Islands

The Qualifiers will be played on the following dates

  • Round 1: 25/26 September 2019
  • Round 2: 28/29 September 2019
  • Round 3: 25/26 March 2020
  • Round 4: 27/28 March 2020
  • Round 5: 27/28 May 2020
  • Round 6: 31 May 2020 (according to the applicable regulations, all matches will throw off at 16:00 hrs Vienna time)

A first qualification phase will be played from 31 May to 2 June 2019. Israel, Finland, Greece and Luxembourg have to play a tournament. Only the winner group advances to the EHF EURO 2020 Qualifiers.

Source: EHF

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: ROAD TO WOMEN'S EHF EURO 2020 — Sport Land

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top